Category: Government

Government news at the state and local levels

MINUTES: Latta Town Council-April 2023 Meetings

0 Regular Meeting Of the Latta Town Council April 13, 2023 7:00 p.m. The Latta Town Council held a regular meeting on April 13, 2023 at 7:00 p.m. The following council members were present: Councilman Jarett Taylor, Councilwoman Lizzie Crawford, Councilman Abbott Shelley, Councilman Marcus McGirt, Mayor Teresa Mason, Councilman Brad Coward, and Councilwoman Melinda…

VIDEO: Dillon County Council Meeting, May 24, 2023

VIDEO: Dillon County Council Meeting, May 24, 2023

Hamer Resident Appears Before Council To Discuss Litter Problem

A Hamer resident appeared before the Dillon County Council at their regular meeting to discuss the deteriorating litter problem in the county.

County Passes Resolution Regarding How They Will Handle Freedom Of Information Act Requests

The Dillon County Council passed a resolution regarding how Freedom of Information Act requests will be handled by the county.

Properties Annexed In The City of Dillon

The City of Dillon approved the second reading of the following ordinances at their April meeting.

Maintenance Building And Fence Proposal Bid Accepted

Two bids were considered by the Dillon County Council to build a new 30×70 metal building behind the old health department building for the maintenance department.

Tire Recycling Contract Approval Given

County Administrator Tim Harper talked about the tire recycling contract.

Roberts Reappointed To Workforce Board

James Roberts was reappointed to the Pee Dee Workforce Development Board by the Dillon County Council at their April meeting.

Vernon Grimsley Approved As Grievance Committee Member

Vernon Grimsley was approved as a member of the Dillon County Grievance Committee.

Dillon And Latta Get Grant Funding

The S.C. Rural Infrastructure Authority (RIA) announced it has awarded $1,369 billion in grant funding to communities across the state to assist with improvements for clean drinking water, sanitary sewer and stormwater resilience.