Category: Government News

News from the municipal, county, and state levels of government related to Dillon County, SC

Congressman Fry Selected For Committees

Congressman Russell Fry (SC-07) was selected by the House Republican Steering Committee to serve on the House Committee on the Judiciary and the Committee on Oversight and Accountability in the 118th Congress.

County Council Decides To Offer Contract To Administrator Candidate

In a 5-2 vote on Friday morning, the Dillon County Council decided to offer a contract to one of the candidates for county administrator.

County Council Gets Update On Broadband Project

Joe Prater, Charter Government Affairs, updated the Dillon County Council on the Spectrum broadband project at their December meeting.

Outgoing Councilmen Give Remarks As They Depart

At the December meeting of the Dillon County Council, outgoing councilmen were recognized for their years of service as well as the family of the late Christopher Miller.

County Donates Ambulance To Dillon Rescue

EMS and Emergency Services Director Daniel Moody came before council at their December meeting about the donation of a used ambulance.

Russell Fry Sworn In As Congressman

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Congressman Russell Fry was sworn in to the 118th Congress by Speaker Kevin McCarthy as the United States Representative for South Carolina’s Seventh Congressional District.

New Lake View Mayor Takes Oath Of Office

Sterling “Bull” Lee took the oath of office on Friday, January 6, becoming the Town of Lake View’s new mayor.

New County Council Chair And Vice-Chair Elected

A new chair and vice-chair were elected at the Dillon County Council’s first meeting of the new year on Tuesday, January 3rd.

PHOTO: Dillon County Council 2023

DILLON COUNTY COUNCIL 2023—Pictured are Councilman Kenny Cook (District 5), Councilman Robbie Coward (District 6), Chairman Stevie Grice (District 7), Vice-Chairwoman Detrice Dawkins (District 3), Councilman T.F. “Buzzy” Finklea, Jr. (District 4), Councilman Jamal Campbell (District 1), and Councilman Dennis Townsend (District 2).

PHOTO GALLERY: Stevie Grice Sworn Into Office

STEVIE GRICE is sworn in as the Dillon County Council District 7 councilman.