VIDEO: Dillon District Four Teacher Of The Year Banquet 2019

Congratulations to Leigh Ann Moody of East Elementary School, the Dillon District Four Teacher of the Year! View the awards ceremony at…

Leigh Ann Moody, second grade teacher at East Elementary School, was named the 2019-2020 Teacher of the Year at the annual banquet held on Monday, September 16, 2019. Miss Moody and seven colleagues representing their schools attended the banquet with district administrators, board members and special guests.
The annual banquet was held in the foyer of the auditorium located at 1738 Highway 301 North. After a delicious dinner was served, principals introduced school representatives and shared attributes that contributed to their selection of this honor.
Each 2019-2020 Teacher of the Year school representative received an engraved gift from the Board of Trustees. Superintendent, D. Ray Rogers, and board chairman, Earl Gleason, Jr., made presentations and expressed their gratitude to each teacher. After school administrators recognized their representatives and board presentations were made, Horace Mann insurance agent, David Stanley, recognized each recipient with a monetary award and thanked them for their service.
Dillon School District Four Superintendent, D. Ray Rogers, shared his admiration and appreciation to all candidates before announcing the district winner. As the district’s 2019-2020 District Teacher of the Year, Miss Moody received a monetary award and an engraved watch denoting this special honor. During her introduction, Shannon Berry, principal at East Elementary, shared accolades related to Miss Moody’s teaching abilities and her efforts to establish positive relationships with her students and colleagues.
As the district’s representative, Miss Moody will be invited to attend professional development trainings especially designed for district honorees and she will have the opportunity to participate in the 2021 State Teacher of the Year competition. Her application will be submitted to the South Carolina Department of Education for inclusion. In the spring, Miss Moody will be invited to attend the Teacher of the Year celebration in Columbia. During the event, State Superintendent of Education, Molly Spearman, will announce the 2021 State Teacher of the Year.
School representatives recognized with Miss Moody included: Sherika Ford, teacher at South Elementary, Veronica Locklear, teacher at Stewart Heights Elementary, Crystal Reed, teacher at Lake View Elementary, Angelia Furnace, teacher at Gordon Elementary, Jamie McClellan, teacher at Dillon Middle School, Korriel Carmichael, teacher at Dillon High School, and Andy Ford, teacher at Lake View High School.

Click once on a photo to bring it into a single screen and then again to enlarge it.