Betty Jo Johnson Selected As Region Four SCSBA Director

Betty Jo Johnson, a member of the Dillon Three School Board, was elected to serve as the Region Four Director of the South Carolina School Boards Association (SCSBA) during the association’s annual business meeting.
The annual business meeting, which was held during the association’s Legislative Advocacy Conference, included voting delegates from most of the state’s 85 school boards. In addition to the election of association officers, delegates adopt resolutions to guide the association during the 2011 legislative session.

Johnson will serve for two years to fill the unexpired term of Horry County board member Mary Ellen Greene who was not re-elected to her local board.
As a regional director, Johnson will serve on the 22-member board of directors representing school boards in Marion, Dillon and Horry counties.
Johnson has served on the Dillon Three board since 1997. She has held the position of board secretary for 11 years and is in her third year as chair.
A life-long resident of Dillon County, Johnson attended Dillon County public schools, graduating with honors in 1973.
She later attended Florence-Darlington Technical College, majoring in secretarial science.
She retired in 2009 from the Dillon County Assessor’s Office after more than 30 years of service and works full time at her church, Latta Baptist.
She has been married thirty-five years to David L. Johnson, Sr.
They have two children, David Jr. and Stephanie, and one grandchild, Katelyn Johnson.
SCSBA is a non-profit organization serving as a source of information and a statewide voice for boards governing the 85 school districts.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email