SENATE REPORT: Redistricting

Redistricting is a process that governments use to draw political district boundaries. It affects local, state, and national elections, including Congress, state legislatures, city councils, school boards, and more. How and where districts are drawn can shape our communities’ ability to elect the representatives of their choice.
These districts are redrawn every ten years after the census is taken to meet the requirements of federal law. The Senate Judiciary Committee has convened a subcommittee to hold public hearings in order to receive public input on how districts are drawn. The mission of these public hearings is to receive testimony and gather information about how people see the areas in which they live and what factors need to be considered when the Senate Districts and the Congressional Districts are redrawn.
We want to ensure that districts are drawn that not only reflect new population totals and comply with federal law, but also represent the people they include. In order to do this, the subcommittee needs first hand information from people all around the State about the areas in which they live. Subcommittee members want to hear from you about the communities of interest that exist throughout the State.
I strongly encourage you to make your voice heard. All public hearings and subcommittee meetings will be open to the public. Notices of all public hearings and subcommittee meetings as well as other information will be posted on the South Carolina Legislature’s Senate Redistricting website, The subcommittee will accept in-person, virtual, and written testimony at each of the public hearings. To sign up to testify please email [email protected], call 803-212-6634, or sign up in person at any of the public hearings.
The following are public hearings in our area:
Tuesday, August 3, 2021
6:30 p.m. at Florence-Darlington Technical College, SiMT
1951 Pisgah Road, Florence, SC 29501
To receive information about the following counties: Chesterfield, Clarendon, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Lee, Marion, Marlboro, Sumter, and Williamsburg
Wednesday, August 11, 2021
6:30 p.m. in the Burroughs and Chapin Auditorium (Building 1100) at Horry-Georgetown Technical College
2050 US-501, Conway, SC 29526
To receive information about the following counties: Dillon, Georgetown, Horry, Marion, Marlboro, and Williamsburg
It is an honor to serve you in Columbia, and I am grateful for your continued support. As with all matters concerning state government, I want to hear your opinions and suggestions concerning these issues. Please contact me in my Columbia office located at 602 Gressette Office Building. You can reach me, or a member of my staff in Columbia at (803) 212-6008 or by fax at (803) 212-6011. My district office is located at 137 Airport Road, Suite J, Mullins, SC 29574, the phone number is (843) 423-8237 and the fax number is (843) 431-6049. You may also email me at [email protected]
As always, I also want to supply you with my business phone number so that you will able to reach me easily at any time. My business phone is (843) 423-3904. Please use this information to write, call or email me with your suggestions and concerns regarding issues before the Senate and in our community.