…And Music Fills The Air

When you’re walking down the main hallway at Dillon Middle School at 1:35 until 2:55 you will hear Band Director Kevin McLellan and the eighth grade band students running scales or learning new music or Chorus Director Joshua Fleetwood and the eighth grade chorus practicing notes or singing songs. The Music Department at Dillon Middle School is excited about reestablishing the long-standing tradition of musical excellence. The eighth grade band performed for Dillon Middle School’s PTO/Title 1 meeting on Thursday, September 20. The Chorus will perform in December. Mr. McLellan was band director at JV Martin and is excited about all of the new equipment that the band room has at the new school. Mr. Fleetwood, a native of Dillon, is happy about returning home and working with the students at the Middle School. The Dillon Middle School Music Department is dedicated to giving students the opportunity to grow musically, socially and
academically. The Department is displaying success as a result of the dedication and hard work of the students, directors, school and district administrators, parents, teachers, patrons and community members. Pictured are Eighth grade band students: Flutes: Timesha Clements, De’Area James, Bethany Johnson, Miranda Locklear, Nyshell Mack, Amauni Mason, Tatyana Miles; Clarinets: Niaja McGill, Kendra McLeod, Hawatha Brayboy, Filiberto Mendoz(bass clarinet); Alto sax: Jameila Alford, Qwameek Bethea, Kelly Monahan, Aziz Manning (tenor sax); Trumpet: Shaniyyah Blue, Travis Evans, Sybria McNeil, Veronica Strickland, Auh’Keiria Smiling; Trombone: Precious Rogers, Shaqaza Manning, Bernisha Leach; Baritone: Kan’Nore McKinnon, Rontedric Graves; Percussion: Justin Alford, Elijah Breeden, Ah’Mare Deberry, Kobe Goldbold, Donald Smith. The Eighth grade chorus students: Sopranos: Makala Arnette, Aaliyah Covington, Breonna Howell, Shanara
McCall, Jermiah McCollum, Brittany Miller, Jasmine Green; Altos: Jamaica Bethea, Chasity Gaddy, Ty’Teana Hawkins, Katilyn Height, Nazia Johns, Shanorean Johnson, Lizbeth Olmos, Diana Palomares-Ortega; Tenors: Damien Bellamy, Javier Brookins, William Cannady, Jonathon Fletcher, Nicholas Graham, Nicholas Hyatt, Tra’Veon Ingram, Jatoreus Manning, Khw’Dief Manning, Ry-heem McCrimmon, Xavier McMillon, Rafael Perez, Alan Rodriguez, Matthew Skipper, Jose Villagomez, Sa’Quavion Whittington. (Contributed by Miranda Manning)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email