Latta School Board Honors Teachers And Bus Drivers With Perfect Attendance At Meeting

Taken from the unofficial minutes of the Latta School Board
The Latta School Board of Trustees met for the regular monthly meeting on Tuesday, June 8, 2010 at 6:30 p.m. in the District Administration Conference Room.
The school level Honor Roll Teachers of the Year were introduced to the Board by their principals.
They are as follows: Latta Early Childhood Center- Dana Wiggins’ Latta Elementary- Stephanie Johnson; Middle School- Cheryl Stubbs and Latta High- Laura H. Gasque.
There being no corrections or additions to the May 11, 2009 minutes, Chair Johnson ruled that they stand approved.
Barbara Smith presented the following:
*2010-2011 school year budget for seconded reading.  She highlighted changes from first reading and stated that the budget was balanced.  Motion was made by Edward Bethea and seconded by Kyle Berry to approve the second reading of the budget as presented.  Vote was unanimous.
*A status report on the General Fund budget.
*Thirty-two teachers has perfect attendance for second semester of school year 2009-2010.
Each will receive $1,000 which will be issued in their June check.
Ten bus drivers had perfect attendance on their routes for second semester.
They will receive $500 which will be issued in their June check.
They are: Early Childhood Center- Megan Bley, Regina Collins, Paula Pridgen*, Evelyn Williams*; Latta Elementary School- Alice Casey*, Deidra Jones*, Patricia McLaurin*, Kelly Sellers, Robin Morris*, Jessica Willis Short*; Latta Middle School- Kimberly Bean*, Tamela George*, Dorothy James*, Victoria Johnson*, Kimberly Gledura, Joshua Noble, Celonia Small*, Melanie Solter, Stephanie Weatherford*, Jo Ann Williamson*; Latta High School- Travis Allen*, Patricia Gerald*, Maria DeCastro*, Valeria Hyatt, Adam Kirk*, Curtis Jackson, Melissa Kirkland-Cook, Michael Rogers, Loria Rogers*, Mary Beth Rogers*, William Thompson*, Elizabeth Webster* (*Denotes perfect attendance for the year)
Eddie Rogers presented the results of the Latta Elementary School Teacher Incentive Bonus.
She also reported that 91.5% was the overall passing rate of eighth graders taking Algebra End of Course exam.
Larry Legette gave an update on the school facilities.
Upon Dr. Kirby’s recommendation, a motion was made by Edward Bethea and seconded by Kyle Berry to approve the hiring of Diana Stubblefield.  Vote was unanimous.