Dillon Kiwanis Celebrating 60 Years Of Dixie Youth Baseball

The Dillon Kiwanis celebrates 60 years of Dixie Youth Baseball this year as the opening ceremony was held on Monday, April 1, at the Michael S. Lecholop Park on the Ray Wilson Field on Julia Lane.
The Dillon Kiwanis baseball league was originally started by members headed by Dudley Saleeby, Tom Cooper Bethea, and Ray Wilson in 1958. Throughout the years since 1972, Lonnie Turner has played a significant role including announcing of the games, statitician, umpiring, lawn maintenance, cutting grass, etc. At most any time in one’s travels, one can see Lonnie hard at work at the park.
In 1960, the Dillon Kiwanis Club had been looking for some property that could be purchased. The late Jewell McLaurin “sold” the land for the present location in 1960. He practically gave the property to the Kiwanis as Mr. McLaurin was an avid sports fan.
In 1958, 1959, and 1960 the team was known as the Little Boys Baseball team Prior to obtaining property to be used as a baseball field, the teams were allowed to use the land at East Elementary School.
In those days, boys from 8 years of age through 14 years of age all played on the same team. In 1960 The Little Boys All-Stars of Dillon missed the District Championships by 1 score. The local All-Stars were ousted by Georgetown in the final game of the series played in Marion by 1-0.
In the afternoon game played in Dillon before a large gathering of fans, Dillon evened the series at one game apiece when Don Griggsby pitched a no-hit, no-run game in the locals 3-0 victory. Sammy Herring pitched the game in Marion and lost 1-0. Dillon had the bases loaded with no outs, but couldn’t produce the runs necessary to insure victory and a trip to the State Tournament in North Charleston.
The All-Star team was selected from the Dillon Kiwanis-sponsored Little Baseball League of four teams. These boys handily swept through sub-district competition from Mullins, Conway, and Myrtle Beach. Members of the squad were Mike King, Larry Herring, Tyrone Hare, Mike Wilson, David Stone, Earl Clark, Kennedy Breeden, Wayne Douglas, Ronnie Daves, Robert Lee, Jewell McLaurin, Sammy Herring, Donald Griggsby, Tommy Wright, Ray Wilson, and Bill Hyatt.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email