Oak Grove Fire Department Celebrating 30th Anniversary

By Betsy Finklea
The Oak Grove Fire Department will be celebrating 30 years of serving the community with an event for the entire family on Saturday, November 23rd from 10 a.m. until 5 p.m.
The celebration will begin with an open house from 10 a.m. until 12 noon. From 12 noon until 1:30 p.m., there will be a former member fellowship, recognition of the former fire chiefs, and lunch will be served. From 1:30-5 p.m., a firefighter competition will be held.
The Oak Grove Fire Department was formed  in 1983 when nine men—Laverne Brigman, Johnny Mac Brigman, Bill Dew, Mitchell Dew, Vance Clark, L.A. Graham, Larry Britt, Don Sherman, and David Lovett—met and  began the new department. The department was dedicated, as it is today, to saving lives and property. In the beginning, they had one pumper and one tanker which was operated from members’ homes until a station was built in 1984.
Community support kept the station operational along with many hours of sacrifice by dedicated volunteers, who have been distinguished by their high level of quality training.. In August 2007, the Oak Grove Fire Department joined the Dillon County fire system becoming known as Dillon County Station Nine.
The Oak Grove Fire Department currently operates-the following trucks: 941 – a 1997 Chevrolet 1st Responder Truck and is used at wrecks and medical calls; 942 – a 1978 GMC used as the training truck for classes we host. not used at emergencies; 943 – a 1973 White, it is first out attack pumper, used at most fires; 944 – a 1986 Chevrolet Tanker, holds 1650 Gallons of water;  945 – a 2008 International pumper/tanker, holds 1000 Gallons of water; and 946 – a 1996 Ford Brush Truck and hold 200 Gallons of water
There are 13 members of the department. Of these 13 members, one is trained to basic Firefighter level, five are trained to Firefighter-1 level and seven are trained to Firefighter-2 level.
Current officers are Chief Larry Cox, Asst. Chief: Terry Weichel,  Captain: Russel Rogers,   Lt: Matt Jackson and Engineer: Larry Lane, Jr.
Members include Linda Weichel, Gabriel Francisco, Matt Miller, Woody Shelley, Nathan Settlemyre, Bill Brandt, Ronnie McDowell, and Alene Cox (support).
The public is invited to attend this event. For more information or to confirm your attendance for lunch, please contact Chief Larry Cox at 845-7105.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email