South Carolina High School Regions Set to Realign for 2012-2014

The South Carolina High School League has realigned the high school regions beginning with the 2012 season.

The official proposal was made in August. Schools were required to appeal the proposed realignment by mid-August.

The Region 8AA landscape is the only one to remain completely unchanged in the realignment. The region includes Dillon, Aynor, Loris, Marion, Mullins, and Waccamaw.

However, this Friday will be the last time Dillon will face Manning for a while, as Manning moves up to Class AAA. Also moving up to AAA are Emerald, Palmetto, Broome, Woodruff, Gilbert, Strom Thurmond, Swansea, Hanahan, and Stall.
Region 7-AA will add Lee Central from Region 4, and Lake Marion, who move down from Class AAA. Andrews, Kingstree, Lake City, and Timberland will remain in the region.

Region 6-AA will add Bishop England from Region 7, as well as Burke from 6-A, Ridgeland from 5A, and Battery Creek from 7-AAA. Academic Magnet, Garret, North Charleston, and Woodland remain in the region.

Region 5-AA gets Bamberg-Ehrhardt from 5-A and Calhoun County from 4-A while retaining Barnwell, Edisto, Silver Bluff, and Wade Hampton.

Region 4-AA adds Chesterfield from 3-A and keeps Andrew Jackson, Buford, Central, Cheraw, and Indian Land.

Region 3-AA picks up Fairfield Central from 4-AAA, North Central from 3-A, and Pelion from 5-AA. Columbia, Eau Claire, and Keenan will all stay put.

Region 2-AA gets both Abbeville and Ninety-Six from 1-A, as well as Batesburg-Leesville from 3-AA. Mid-Carolina, Newberry, and Saluda remain in the region.

In Region 1-AA, Blacksburg and Landrum move up from 2-A to join Carolina, Chesnee, Crescent, Liberty, Pendleton, and Powdersville.

With 10 Class A teams moving up to Class AA, the Class A playoffs will likely look very different in 2012. For instance, the current Class A Division I football playoffs include Abbeville, Calhoun County, Landrum, Ninety-Six, Chesterfield, Bamberg-Ehrhardt, Burke, and Ridgeland, all of whom will be moving up next season.

In Class A, Region 8, Lake View and Latta will stay put along with Creek Bridge, Green Sea-Floyds, and Johnsonville. Hannah-Pamplico will now be joining the region as well, while Carvers Bay and Hemingway will both be moving to Region 7-A to join C.E. Murray, East Clarendon, Scott’s Branch, and Timmonsville.

The loss of Hemingway could be good news for the Wild Gators and the Vikings football teams, since Hemingway dominated the region this season. Meanwhile, Hannah-Pamplico finished 3-7 overall, just one win better than Latta’s 2-8 and behind Lake View’s current 6-5.

Abbeville’s move could also be good news for Lake View’s softball team, who battled Abbeville for the state softball championship earlier this year.

Elsewhere, Region 6-A will consist of Baptist Hill, Cross, Lincoln, Military Magnet, St. John’s, and Charleston Charter. Charleston Charter has no football team.

Region 5-A adds Denmark-Olar from Region 4-A, while retaining Allendale-Fairfax, Bethune-Bowman, Branchville, Estill, Hardeeville, and Whale Branch.

Region 4-A will include Blackville-Hilda, Fox Creek, Hunter-Kinard-Tyler, North, Ridge Spring-Monetta, Wagener-Salley, and Williston-Elko.

Region 3-A picks up Lamar and the Governor’s School from 7-A, and retains C.A. Johnson, Great Falls, Lewisville, and McBee.

Region 2-A will include Christ Church, Southside Christian, St. Joseph’s, and Whitmore, though Whitmore will only be in Region 2-A for football. Region 2-A will also include Brashier Middle College, Greenville Charter, Greer Middle College, and S.C.S.D.B., none of which will have football teams.

Region 1-A will include Calhoun Falls, Dixie, McCormick, Tamassee-Salem, Ware Shoals, and all Whitmire sports except football. Tamassee-Salem will not have a football team.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email